Introductions

Standard

To try to imagine how each of 18 different young adults arrived at this opportunity is next to impossible. We are diverse and we each carry our own story; however, for the next month (and possibly for the rest of our lives) our experiences will overlap and will bring us together. We were each graciously chosen for our unique talents, abilities, and life experiences — not only by the search committee but by God.

Isaiah 6:8 says “Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then said I, Here am I; send me.”

It shows a lot of faith to apply for a mission trip with a group of people you may have never met before. There’s not a safety net of having your friends or people from your church there. You enter into this on blind faith that this is what God wants from you. You look at him and say those words from Isaiah — send me to do YOUR will. I think that’s a powerful choice to go where God leads without knowing what will happen.

We met for the first time on Saturday to get the details of our trip. It was our first opportunity to gather any information on the people who’d be going with us. Granted, I knew from looking at the email addresses of my fellow attendees that one of them is a “six foot beast” and that several attend Appalachian State but I had no real idea as to who I’d be meeting. When I walked in, everyone was smiling and welcoming.

The majority of our time was spent learning about where we’d be going and getting the itinerary for our trip. We met the team and introduced ourselves before really diving into the project. I felt really empowered by the fact that the project wasn’t completely laid out before us, that we had the power to use our knowledge to impact what we’d be doing.

This blog will chronicle our trip. Please join us on this adventure.

Leave a Reply

